2 Comments

Kuya’s Homecoming at Kuya’s

My eldest boy, Christian is back with me for the summer. You see, he stays with his grandmother being the ‘first apo’ and all-time favorite. I remember years back when he had his summer homecoming too. He looked like this…

IMG_2150

Now, he looks like this…

IMG_2415

To celebrate his homecoming, we decided to eat at Kuya’s…

IMG_4778

I always pass by this restaurant as it was in our neighborhood’s vicinity and have always wondered about it. Finally, I was convinced to give it a try when a co-parent told me about it. I was convinced because every time we had our little chat, she and her husband seemed so well-versed with finding the worthy restaurants in the metro. It was a slow day when we visited. That works for me. Parking was not a problem, when it usually is in Bayani Road, Fort Bonifacio. As we entered, I noticed its tempered lighting, which kind of forces your to relax and leave your stress at the doorstep. Inside, there were art pieces that will catch your eye. The table settings were a bit formal. I remember cozy music from the late 80s playing.

IMG_4792

IMG_4790IMG_4791IMG_4782

The food was good and affordable. I noticed that Kuya’s was a single resto venue offering a two- themed cuisine. Kuya’s offered good, Filipino food. while Jed and Julian’s (which is the same venue) offers pizza and burgers. I was enticed by the pizza-burger-pasta menu but I opted to follow the advice of our experienced informant, I ordered their Kare Kare. The kids went for Adobo Rice and the ever kid-friendly Chicken Inasal. Hands down, the Kare Kare was the star of the night. The kids forgot about the other orders and just indulged in this original Kapampangan dish. The portioning was big too that we took home what was left. I just had to ask for that extra bagoong (fermented fish paste)‚Ķbecause it was absolutely heavenly. And what’s a Kare Kare without bagoong! There was no outright saltiness to it. Instead the oil and the saltiness burst together subtlety in your mouth!

IMG_4806

IMG_4796IMG_4800IMG_4805Oh, I should mention that we were served by patient, efficient Kuyas as waiters. They embody the true big brother always ready to lend a hand.Their uniform shirts also said, “I will be a good kuya.” I’m sure there’s a very interesting story on how the restaurant was named. Who is this Kuya?, I wondered.

After a full, satisfying meal, the ambience was just perfect for us to just stay and talk awhile. Kuya, Yna and Prince busied themselves with doodling on the big paper table mat while they teased each other, as usual. There was no one ‘pikon,’ (huffy) that night, thank heavens. I watched them talk to each other. I pocketed another family moment. Why do I feel as if moments like these are running out? Is it because I’m being aware at how fast they grow up? I could just sigh.

IMG_4809

 

Kuya’s at the Fort/ Jed and Julian’s

21 Bayani Road, Fort Bonifacio, Taguig City 

Tel. Nos. (02) 889-0240/ (02) 782-2802

 

2 comments on “Kuya’s Homecoming at Kuya’s

  1. I guessed that it’s a Filipino-food restaurant. :D

    Adobo rice sounds good. Liking the scribbling on the table … pero Ate nakikita yung mess mo. Ahihihi :D

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

